Territory East of the Jordan
1The Israelites struck down the following kings of the land and took possession of their land beyond the Jordan to the east and from the Arnon River to Mount Hermon, including all the Arabah eastward:12:1 Dt 3:8–9
2King Sihon of the Amorites lived in Heshbon. He ruled from Aroer12:2 Dt 2:36 on the rim of the Arnon River, along the middle of the valley, and half of Gilead up to the Jabbok River (the border of the Ammonites12:2 Dt 3:16),
3the Arabah east of the Sea of Chinnereth12:3 = Galilee to the Sea of Arabah (that is, the Dead Sea), eastward through Beth-jeshimoth12:3 Jos 13:20 and southward12:3 Or and from Teman below the slopes of Pisgah.12:3 Jos 11:2
4King Og12:4 LXX; MT reads The territory of Og of Bashan, of the remnant of the Rephaim, lived in Ashtaroth and Edrei.12:4 Dt 1:4
5He ruled over Mount Hermon, Salecah, all Bashan up to the Geshurite and Maacathite border, and half of Gilead to the border of King Sihon of Heshbon.12:5 Dt 3:10,14
6Moses the Lord’s servant12:6 Nm 32:33; Dt 3:12; Jos 1:1,13,15; 8:31,33; 11:12; 13:8; 14:7; 18:7; 22:2,4–5 and the Israelites struck them12:6 Nm 21:21–35; Dt 2:26–3:11; 29:7; 31:4; Ps 135:11; 136:19–20; Neh 9:22–25 down. And Moses the Lord’s servant gave their land as an inheritance to the Reubenites, Gadites, and half the tribe of Manasseh.12:6 Dt 3:12–17; 29:8
Territory West of the Jordan
7Joshua and the Israelites struck down the following kings of the land beyond the Jordan to the west, from Baal-gad in the Valley of Lebanon to Mount Halak,12:7 Jos 11:16–17 which ascends toward Seir (Joshua gave their land as an inheritance to the tribes of Israel according to their allotments:
8the hill country, the Judean foothills,12:8 Or the Shephelah the Arabah, the slopes, the wilderness, and the Negev — the lands of the Hethites, Amorites, Canaanites, Perizzites, Hivites, and Jebusites):
9the king of Jericho12:9 Jos 6:2
the king of Ai,12:9 Jos 8:29 which is next to Bethel one
10the king of Jerusalem12:10 Jos 10:23
the king of Hebron one
11the king of Jarmuth
the king of Lachish one
12the king of Eglon
the king of Gezer one
13the king of Debir
the king of Geder one
14the king of Hormah
the king of Arad one
15the king of Libnah
the king of Adullam one
16the king of Makkedah
the king of Bethel one
17the king of Tappuah
the king of Hepher one
18the king of Aphek
the king of Lasharon one
19the king of Madon
the king of Hazor one
20the king of Shimron-meron
the king of Achshaph one
21the king of Taanach
the king of Megiddo one
22the king of Kedesh
the king of Jokneam in Carmel one
23the king of Dor in Naphath-dor12:23 Or in the Slopes of Dor
the king of Goiim in Gilgal12:23 LXX reads Galilee one
24the king of Tirzah
the total number of all kings: thirty-one.